RE: Fallout 3 Reviews

I want to get something off my chest.

I purposefully avoided reading reviews of Fallout 3 prior to playing and reviewing it myself.  Having now written my review of Fallout 3, I have been reading several other reviews and I’ve re-read my own review several times.  I am disappointed.  I’m disappointed both in myself, and in others.

I am disappointed in myself for a few reasons.  First, because I did not make it clear that I am still in the process of my first playthrough.  I have not completed the main quest.  I have a feeling that once I do, my opinion of the game will drop a bit, given what I now know.  I also was not aware of the decrease in damage taken during V.A.T.S. (it never really came up while I was playing…).  While in V.A.T.S., the player receives about 10% of the damage normally taken.  I still really like the V.A.T.S. system, and I still feel it does a good job of hybridizing realtime FPS combat and turn-based combat.  However, making the player take less damage while in V.A.T.S. is akin to making V.A.T.S. a one-button cheat code.  Shame on you, Bethesda.  I am also disappointed that I did not stress that Fallout 1 and Fallout 2 are better games (in my opinion) than Fallout 3.  I did point out a few things that I felt were missing from Fallout 3, things that were much better done in Fallout 1 and Fallout 2.  But I did not outright state the following: Fallout 1 is the best game in the series, followed by Fallout 2, and then Fallout 3.

Mostly, though, I’m disappointed in the vast majority of people who have reviewed Fallout 3.  In general, about 90% of reviews are absoulte glowing reviews.  These people seem to think that Fallout 3 is the second coming in video game form.  It’s a good game.  It’s a fun game.  It is not, however, deserving of undying praise.  It does have its faults, and no one seems to admit it or state it.  The overwhelming praise for the game is really undeserved.  Then there are about 5% of reviews that are completely negative.  Here’s the flip side of the 90%.  These are the people who are die-hard Fallout fans.  It’s like people who find and fall in love with an indi band, only to gripe and moan when they finally sign a recording contract with a big label, saying they’ve sold out.  These are the people who feel that becoming a huge commercial endeavour (and success) means the series is somehow dead.  These are the people who knew that they would despise the game from the moment it was announced.  Wake up, people.  Review the game for what it is.  It’s really rather fun.  For those of you following along at home, that puts about 5% of reviews as honest, unbiased reviews.

I will be posting a follow-up review of Fallout 3 at a later date, I just wanted to put this out there…

~ by rev.mojo on December 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
