Memory: My Curse, My Blessing

Note: You may wonder how this relates to gaming.  Just keep reading, you’ll see.

As anyone who knows me really well can tell you, I have memory recall issues.  This generally manifests itself as forgetfulness or aloofness.  I’ll need to do something, and time comes to do it, and I completely forget.  I have difficulty remembering people’s names (seriously… it takes me ages to remember a name).  I forget birthdays.  We all have these issues, I just have them frequently.

I work pretty hard to overcome my forgetfulness, though it still affects me.  Just the other day, I was reading a document for work, and had a question about part of it.  I know, I should have written it down.  Immediately.  Because by the time I finished reading the document, I’d forgotten the question.  Mind you, this was a 6 page document, and my question came somewhere around page 3.  I’ve been getting better, though.  I make myself “to do” lists.  (My wife also makes me “to do” lists.)  I’ve been getting better about remembering names.  That one I’ve really been focusing on… few things are worse than forgetting coworkers’ names.

Thing is, this also has its benefits.  How, one may ask, does bad memory benefit anyone?  Well, my friends, I’ll tell you: entertainment.  When I read a good book, chances are good that, in about a month, while I’ll still remember the general plot outline, I’ve forgotten a good portion of it.  That means I can go back and re-read it and it’s almost like reading it all over again.  Same with movies.  Give it some time, and I’ll forget significant portions of it.  Better yet, it also applies to games.

Now you may understand why this has been on my mind lately.  Fallout 3 just came out.  I absolutely loved Fallout and Fallout 2.  What were they about you say?  Uh… I remember something about a water chip.  I remember the G.E.C.K., but that’s only because I reinstalled Fallout 2 recently and played the first little bit of it.  Prior to that, I remembered nothing about Fallout 2 except the Monty Python bridge encounter.  You know what that means?  I can go back and play through Fallout and Fallout 2 as if I’d never played them before.

If I weren’t so darn busy playing through Fallout 3, I would be all over that…

~ by rev.mojo on November 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
